Posted by: michelezanini | June 23, 2012

And the discussions continue…

The Canadian study published in June 2012, casts doubt on any effectiveness of the Liberation Treatment. However for those that have felt improvement post treatment (even if only for a short while) know that it must play some role in the disease. Thankfully dentists, interventional radiologists, chiropractors and vascular surgeons continue to gather information and share ideas. Even if collapsed veins only play a small role in MS, from where I sit (because walking and standing is challenging) it is still worth studying.

It has been suggested that collapsed veins and poor blood drainage might be attributed to many factors; the jaw, the bite, previous head and neck injuries, misaligned vertebrae, tight muscles the list goes on. I am currently visiting a NUCCA chiropractor to see if re-alignment of my upper cervical spine might bring some relief to my aching body. Thus far the effects have been subtle but I do not expect things to heal over night (drats!). Soft spoken, gentle handed Dr. Hasick reminded me that he can only help me by bringing better alignment in my upper cervical spine, “the rest is self healing and maintaining hope through the ongoing process of self discovery and self-healing”. These things are very important to maintaining a good quality of life, but Holy Hannah, I am finding it difficult to achieve these things! Call me a constant work in progress but aren’t we all?

THANKS Kathy for loaning me Ending Denial, the BIG book on Lyme disease. It is not an easy read however I have been able to take in the basics and ask some reasonable questions of my Naturopath. This is new ground for me. It is surreal that if MCIS (Multiple Chronic Infection Syndrome), formerly known as Lyme disease, can produce symptoms similar to MS (and other auto immune diseases), yet we are not working on more accurate serological laboratory tests and effective treatment. It is a fact that auto immune diseases are on the rise, oddly so is the growth and reach of bacteria infected ticks.

Did you know that it is possible to contract Lyme disease without having the highly recognizable bull’s eye rash? Did you know that most of our Canadian doctors are NOT Lyme literate? Did you know that most ticks carry more than one parasite? What do we really know about Lyme disease, is it only a zoonosis? Ticks are ectoparasites (external parasites), living by hematophagy on the blood of mammals, birds, and sometimes reptiles and amphibians. What about the our exchange of bodily fluids? What about insects like mosquitoes? Wow listen to me, Mrs. Mitchell, my grade 12 biology teacher would be so proud.

If one were to look at a map of reported Lyme disease, we have very little in Canada…do the ticks (like rats) know where the border is? HA! We have mammals, birds, and sometimes reptiles and amphibians in Canada, don’t we? Perhaps we are living in denial?

It is true we Canadians are polite and will let others in front of us in a line up but why do we do this when it comes to our health. Why doesn’t the CMA want to be in the forefront of modern medicine? The CMA has revoked licenses from doctors that were breaking ground in regard to Lyme disease. Oh my gosh, it is like the Liberation Treatment and the reluctance to step up and consider other factors may be at play. We continue to hear news stories and warnings about Lyme disease but we hear nothing about those that have been ill, sought treatment and are feeling better.

Time continues to literally “tick” away. Perhaps this is a desperate road to travel, maybe I am grasping at straws but I am not being treated to get better. I am being offered a cacophony of meds to treat symptoms. I do not believe anyone’s body is saying “ah just what I need is a rash of man-made drugs to placate me until the day I die”.

I believe in the truth, the peace, the calm, and the power of “Surrender”-Elizabeth Kubler-Ross and David Kessler, Life Lessons, Scribner, New York, 2000. As my dear and kind friend said, every thirty minutes there is a time to “surrender” to life “as is”. Barb, I will always treasure your timely, helpful sharing of such a precious tool that is now in my toolkit too. I will learn to gracefully surrender more often; it is a beautiful child like art! As a matter of fact as I have been feeling physically and emotionally worn out this past couple of weeks I chose to surrender. The best part was realizing that I was not giving up, just letting go. I feel more rested now.

However when it comes to changing what I believe can be changed I am not ready to sit back and accept that the struggles of living with MS are “what is best”. Not for me, not for others diagnosed with MS. Again, I am not prepared to wait, I am turning over rocks, I am forging ahead as an advocate for my health. I am poking around right now and not confident to say more at this point but believe me, there will be more to follow, stay tuned!

As my hubby’s friend Brent always says, “PEACE”!

Responses

  1. Go girl, you keep chugging ahead…….Eventually you /we will find what works for us….MS will be defeated………blessings


Leave a Reply

Categories

